The New Year at K9

image1

Meet Chase

Hi, I’m Chase. I came to the refuge six weeks ago when a change of circumstances in my family meant they could no longer look after me. They were very sad to let me go and I was sad to lose them but I understand why it had to be this way.

I am a young dog, only seven months old, and love to have fun. My people here at K9 say I am such a friendly and sweet-natured boy. I get on really well with everyone and am always eager to please. I also love to learn new things and love my walks. I’m very good on and off lead and always come back when called. I get on well with other dogs but, as I’m told is often the case in a refuge environment for young lads like me, I sometimes feel overwhelmed by being amongst so many other pupsters.

I have a best friend, Toby, at K9 but he leaves to live with his new family in Germany soon. I will miss him and really hope I will have my own forever home soon, too. Do you have a place in your heart for me, please? In return, I promise to be a loving and fun companion. If you would like to meet me, please get in touch with my people at K9 in any of the ways mentioned below.

How You Can Help Us in 2017

2016 saw over 150 beautiful dogs arrive at the gates of the refuge. In many different circumstances but never through any fault of their own.  Happily, almost the same number have found their new forever family. For all of us at K9 our one wish for 2017 is to see all our beautiful dogs in their own safe and loving forever home. While they wait patiently for that day to come, there are lots of ways you can help make their time at the refuge as happy as possible. Here are just a few:

  • our pupsters love their time out of their kennels specially when they have the company of people. Why not visit us any day between 1000 and 1300 and take some of our guys for a walk. They’d love to show you their favourite tracks and sniffing places! It doesn’t matter how much or little time you have, 2 hours or 20 minutes are equally appreciated. Fresh air, exercise, good company – great for the dogs and for you!
  • donate or shop at the K9 shop in Alcala main square. We always appreciate donations – hand them in at the shop or at the refuge. Or why not take a visit to the shop? You’re sure to find great bargains and the friendly people there will make you very welcome.
  • we all know it isn’t always practical to have our own family dog no matter how much we would love to but how about fostering? The refuge environment can be noisy and stressful at times and a small number of our dogs find it hard to settle there. We always need foster homes for these guys until they find their forever families. Depending on the circumstances, the foster period can be for days or months and it makes the world of difference for that one dog. Fostering is very rewarding. Why not consider it? If you would like more information please do get in touch in any of the ways mentioned below.
  • Remember our car boot sales. Held on the last Sunday of every month at Los Gigantes bus station from 09:00 to 12:30. There are always some great choices and bargains to be had.

Meet Our Dogs

We have many dogs – in all shapes and sizes – waiting patiently for their loving, safe and secure forever homes.  You can see them all – their stories and pictures – on our website at  http://www.k9tenerife.com  Go to “K9 dogs/Dogs waiting for homes”.

Why not visit us at K9 Refuge on Calle Chimbesque between Las Chafiras and Las Zocas any day of the week between 10:00 and 14:00.  Alternatively, you can get in touch by telephoning us on 667 638 468 or emailing info@k9tenerife.com

You will also find stories of our dogs, their antics and heartwarming re-homings on facebook by following Diary of a K9 Tenerife Dogwalker and also K9 Tenerife.

 

For more info on Tenerife read the Red Queen Musings everyone’s favourite Tenerife Blog
This entry was posted in News and Views and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

