THE WHALE AND DOLPHIN SANCTUARY

delfines

Tenerife is a whale watching sanctuary. Long-finned pilot whales and bottlenose dolphins are observed by hundreds of tourists each day. To enjoy one of the best experiences of a lifetime, you only need some sun cream to protect the skin, shorts, t-shirt, sunglasses and cap. The boats leave from Los Cristianos (Arona), Puerto Colón (Costa Adeje) and Los Gigantes (Santiago del Teide). All of them, such as Mar de Ons, Marítima Acantilados, Tenerife Dolphin and Flipper, a fantastic pirate-style 24 metrelong motorised sailing boat, offer wonderful outings. With three departures per day, many serve free drinks, a snack or lunch. All the vessels, when they reach the whale watching position, switch off their engines to avoid disturbing the animals and to conserve this place as one of the primary spots worldwide for whale watching.

The above  was originally posted by
For more info on Tenerife read the Red Queen Musings everyone’s favourite Tenerife Blog
This entry was posted in News and Views and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to THE WHALE AND DOLPHIN SANCTUARY

  1. ceejayblue says:

    Its a pity that they still have captive whales and dolphins on the island though 😦 I loved seeing the pilot whales when Annie and I did one of the trips a few years ago, in their natural habitat they were beautiful creatures. x

    • Totally agree Chris, but everyone is different, in my youth I loved places liked Sea World my views changed as I got older and I like to think wiser.

      • ceejayblue says:

        I’ve been to Sea World on the Gold Coast in Australia and Selwo Marina in Benalmadena and I enjoyed the shows because its the closest I’ll ever get to a dolphin or Orca, however, I was always uncomfortable with the conditions they were kept in. I enjoy zoos too (Fuengirola is my favourite) because they nearly all have great breeding programmes and try to return endangered animals to the wild but as I’ll never go on a safari getting to see animals in the wild is something I won’t get to do, I’ll just have to watch David Attenborough’s Planet Earth over and over 😉

Leave a Reply

