Addicted to Barraquitos

I admit I am guilty of advising people to try a barraquito. It is wrong because most I have told end up like me, addicted to the darn things, as they are so tasty. During daylight hours, I omit the alcohol and stick to a Leche, leche, but once dusk draws in I enjoy the full works.

Yesterday there were people on Tenerife Forum wanting to know what it is and how to make it, so here goes….

Firstly, it is a sweet, or should that be very sweet coffee. It is a combination of condensed milk, espresso coffee, Licor 43 (cuarenta y tres) and frothed milk.

Because I know what I like I just measure by eye, however if it is your first time then follow the recipe below and adjust the next time you make one…… because no doubt there will be a next time and a next.

Ingredients
3 tablespoons milk (frothy)
1 shot black coffee
1 tablespoon condensed milk
Ground Cinnamon
A tiny bit of lemon peel

Method
In a small glass, pour the condensed milk
On top gently pour the Licor 43
Add the black coffee
Top with a little foamy milk. (I have a coffee machine at home so making frothy milk is easy but you may want to whisk it if you don’t have a coffee maker.)
Add the lemon peel
Decorate the top with some cinnamon

And that’s it, so simple and so delicious.

42-dsc05277

For more info on Tenerife read the Red Queen Musings everyone’s favourite Tenerife Blog  
This entry was posted in News and Views and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Addicted to Barraquitos

  1. missmoonpoppie says:

    Mail you this week – whe’re in Tenerife 13-25 nov.and…..dec 11 one way ticket for me !! ( Karel arrives one week later with car, ferry and flights booked ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

